Bug Life cycle


#1) New
This is the first state of a defect in the Defect Life Cycle. When any new defect is found, it falls in a ‘New’ state and validations and testing are performed on this defect in the later stages of the Defect Life Cycle.
#2) Assigned: In this stage, a newly created defect is assigned to the development team for working on the defect. This is assigned by the project lead or the manager of the testing team to a developer.
#3) Open: Here, the developer starts the process of analyzing the defect and works on fixing it, if required. If the developer feels that the defect is not appropriate then it may get transferred to any of the below four states namely Duplicate, Deferred, Rejected or Not a Bug-based upon the specific reason.
I will discuss these four states in a while.
#4) Fixed: When the developer finishes the task of fixing a big by making the required changes then he can mark the status of the defect as ‘Fixed’.
#5) Pending Retest: After fixing the defect, the developer assigns the fixed bug  to the tester for retesting the defect at their end and till the tester works on retesting the defect, the state of the defect remains in ‘Pending Retest’.
#6) Retest: At this point, the tester starts the task of working on the retesting of the defect to verify if the defect is fixed accurately by the developer as per the requirements or not.
#7) Reopen: If any issue still persists in the bug then it will be assigned to the developer again for testing and the status of the defect gets changed to ‘Reopen’.
#8) Verified: If the tester does not find any issue in the defect after being assigned to the developer for retesting and he feels that if the defect has been fixed accurately then the status of the defect gets assigned to ‘Verified’.
#9) Closed: When the defect does not exist any longer then the tester changes the status of the defect to ‘Closed’.

Post a Comment


POST Answer of Questions and ASK to Doubt

Post a Comment (0)